Russian National Football (Soccer) Team

All Time Results
About Pussian Team
Russian Legends





Group leaders Russia left frustrated

Russia were again left frustrated in front of goal as Armenia secured a battling draw in Yerevan in tonight's Euro 2012 qualifier.

Group B leaders Russia have now failed to score in their last three matches after losing friendlies to Belgium and Iran, although will class this as a point gained in view of Armenia's strong start to the qualifying campaign.

Armenia were quickly out of the blocks and a shot from Henrikh Mkhitaryan in the sixth minute was well taken by Igor Akinfeev.

The Russian goalkeeper then denied Edgar Malakyan before Gevorg Ghazaryan sent his effort the wrong side of the post.

Armenia kept up the pressure in front of a partisan crowd and Marco Pizelli saw his shot parried by Akinfeev.

Russia responded in the 28th minute but Chelsea's Yury Zhirkov was out of luck.

Ghazaryan went close at the start of the second half and Yura Movsisyan should have put Armenia ahead in the 52nd minute, only to fire over the bar.

That sparked Russia into action and they gained the momentum.

But Alexander Kerzhakov, Arsenal's Andrey Arshavin, Alan Dzagoev and Roman Shirkov were all wasteful and they had to settle for a point., March 26, 2011

Armenia - Russia - 0:0

March 26, 2011
Euro 2012 qualifier. Group B
Yerevan. Republican Stadium. 15000
Referee: Craig Thomson (Scotland)
Armenia: 1 Roman Berezovsky, 4 Sargis Hovsepyan, 5 Robert Arzumanyan, 15 Grayr Mkoyan, 2 Levon Hayrapetyan, 6 Karlen Mkrtchain, 9 Edgar Malakyan, 14 Yura Movsisyan, 18 Henrikh Mkhitarian, 10 Gevorg Ghazarian, 8 Marcos Pinheiro Pizelli.
Coach: Vardan Minasyan.
Russia: 1 Igor Akinfeev, 4 Sergei Ignashevich, 3 Vasili Berezutsky, 5 Yuri Zhirkov, 2 Roman Shishkin, 8 Konstatin Zurianov, 7 Igor Denisov, 6 Roman Shirokov, 11 Alan Dzagoev, 10 Andrei Arshavin, 9 Alexander Kerzhakov.
Coach: Dick Advocaat.
Armenia: 12 Stepan Ghazarian, 16 Valeri Aleksanyan, 3 Artur Yuspashyan, 17 Artak Edigaryan, 7 Artur Edigaryan, 11 Artak Dashyan, 13 Edgar Manucharyan.
Russia: 16 Viacheslav Malafeev, 19 Alexei Berezutsky, 14 Igor Semshov, 15 Diniyar Bilyaletdinov, 18 Dennis Glushakov, 17 Roman Pavlyuchenko, 12 Pavel Pogrebniak.
Armenia: Edgar Manucharyan for Edgar Malakyan (49), Artur Edigaryan for Marcos Pinheiro Pizelli (56), Artak Edigaryan for Levon Hayrapetyan (67).
Russia: Pavel Pogrebniak for Alexander Kerzhakov (78), Diniyar Bilyaletdinov for Andrei Arshavin (90).
Yellow Cards: Levon Hayrapetyan (34), Roman Shishkin (63), Edgar Manucharyan (88).

home   up

© Russian National Football Team -